Skip to content
PRO
Pro Members Get Full Access!
Get off the sidelines and take action in real estate investing with BiggerPockets Pro. Our comprehensive suite of tools and resources minimize mistakes, support informed decisions, and propel you to success.
Advanced networking features
Market and Deal Finder tools
Property analysis calculators
Landlord Command Center
$0
TODAY
$39.00/month when billed monthly.
$32.50/month when billed annually.
7 day free trial. Cancel anytime
Already a Pro Member? Sign in here
House Hacking
All Forum Categories
Followed Discussions
Followed Categories
Followed People
Followed Locations
Market News & Data
General Info
Real Estate Strategies
Landlording & Rental Properties
Real Estate Professionals
Financial, Tax, & Legal
Real Estate Classifieds
Reviews & Feedback

User Stats

Votes
Owen Madigan
Votes |
Duplex House Hack with Partner (Recent College Grads)

Owen Madigan
Posted

Hello,

I am new to bigger pockets but have been set on owning a duplex for some time now. My best friend from growing up and I are back home (Boston area) from college and want to save up to buy a duplex together and rent out the other side. The plan would be to live in it for a year together then move out and have both sides rented.

We would ideally look to be buying in about a year to 18 months from now, hopefully when rates come down. It's looking like prices are going to be around $1m. Any help/advice on what kind of financing to go for (FHA/conventional/first time home buyer benefits) and any insight on how best to do this with a partner would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

-Owen

User Stats

Votes
John Steffen
Agent
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
Agent
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Replied

Hey Owen, yes, it's possible for both of you to be on title, split closing costs, etc. Your lender will likely base the loan off just one income/credit though (at least that's how my lenders have done it)