• Developer
Votes |
Self Storage- Why Storage? Why me?

Henry Clark
Pro Member
#1 Commercial Real Estate Investing Contributor
  • Developer
Posted Jul 13 2020, 14:20

This topic got erased before.  I am not trying to sell anything or promote myself.  Giving information and experience freely. Would like folks to know who is giving the information and what the "angle" is.

We are finishing our last storage location.  Moving on to a different part of our life's and a new investment (Teak Forestry).  Glad to help others out.

WHY STORAGE, WHY ME?

First of all, don’t trust anything I say. All things related to Storage, “you” can validate. You need to own the info, since its your money.

Second, start small and make your big mistakes early.

My background is as a CPA/Controller/CFO in Small $10mm and large corporations $1bl. Primarily in the manufacturing arena. Have a great wife and son. Everything is/was good in the world. I don’t have a great Pasta recipe to start a restaurant. Not handy with machines. Not a sales person. Don’t want to fix toilets at 10pm on a Saturday and replace soiled carpet on a Sunday. I am diligent, great at managing projects, good at Finances, care for my clients and most importantly can “Take a licking and keep on ticking.” Do you have similar skills? Being a business owner is hard. Developing a new Storage site is harder. Everyone sees “money” when they see a storage location, they don’t see the Risk or hard work to get there.