• Rental Property Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Where to hang license as side hustle

Kyle O'Donnell
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Feb 13 2021, 16:36

I am a full-time physician assistant getting my real estate license for my own buy and hold business in Georgia. I am not looking to do sales for others. I May end up  representing colleagues who want to get into real estate or selling my own properties. My question is what should I be looking for in a broker?  Commercial (KW has good training I hear) vs small investor orientated? I’m certainly looking for networking and mentoring opportunities as well as access to standardized procedures.

It seems like I would be a liability for most brokers. Do part-timers pay a flat monthly fee or something? Anyways, I’m looking for some help thinking through this before I start talking to brokers.

User Stats

Votes
Kobe Xin
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Replied Feb 13 2021, 17:03

@Kyle O'Donnell

Usually larger franchise brokerages will charge all agents the same fees and splits while giving agents access to the same tools trainings and resources. That can be both a positive or a negative depending on the opportunity cost of the monthly fee and % of commission they take on every sale vs the opportunity and tools that are given to you.

On the other hand smaller local shops can be more flexible when it comes to the terms of full time sales agents vs part time agents. They might be more willing to charge less each month but give you access to less training or resources depending on the shop.

User Stats

Votes
Kyle O'Donnell
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Feb 13 2021, 18:56

@Kobe Xin tyvm for your response!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Timothy White
  • Realtor
  • Boston, MA
Votes |