• Real Estate Agent
  • Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Votes |
Getting started with property managing

Jason Hanson
  • Real Estate Agent
Posted Apr 26 2024, 13:25

I am just getting started managing 7 units. What sites/software does anyone recomentd to collect rent, anyone have like a template of an excell sheet I can use to get organized? I feel like I'm kinda chasing my tail here. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome! I'm really excited to start my journey with investing!!

User Stats

Votes
Johnathan Mone
  • Investor
  • NY CT, NJ
Votes |
  • Investor
  • NY CT, NJ
Replied Apr 26 2024, 13:39

Hi Jason,

Depending on the property size there is different software. For only 7 units, you may be best off with just Excel. You could also use quick books. If you’re planning to scale you can look into larger ERPs like Buildium or Yardi.  

User Stats

Votes
Corey Conklin
Pro Member
  • Investor
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
Replied Apr 26 2024, 14:07

Excel works fine for tracking expenses with minimal units. I use Turbotenant for collecting rent and electronic lease signing and it's been great. I use Zillow for property marketing and applications.

So far that combo has worked on the 6 properties that I self manage.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Olivia Grabka
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Leominster, MA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Leominster, MA
Replied Apr 28 2024, 04:30

@Jason Hanson

Rentredi is easy & worked for us until we got over 150 units.

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Apr 28 2024, 05:39

Software is a common question on BiggerPockets. Here are some things to consider: