• Real Estate Investor
  • California
Votes |
WHETHER TO LEVERAGE APPT BUILDING AND TAKE A MIL OUT

Robert Y.
  • Real Estate Investor
  • California
Posted Apr 29 2017, 04:55

The question is whether to leverage an apartment building more.

I already posted the setup several months ago:

I'm a 63 year old doctor and a student of BP and RE investing but little practice. My investments have been acquired and managed by my buddy my accountant, who has 250 doors. I have a 20 unit multifamily near the LA City College in LA (this is rent control but considered pretty desirable and not likely to severely crash in a decline). There's about a 350,000$ rental income a year and the net net is 70-130,000$ depending on capital investments needed. Value is 4.9 M and loan is 2.0 M. This seems like a bad cash on cash return, although admittedly it looks worse because of recent appreciation. I've had the property for 3 years after 3.3 M purchase price and we've managed to turn over half the tenants for higher rents. The rest of the tenants are rocks. But it seems like I could get both better forced appreciation AND better cash flow in another market (10 per cent would be nice). I have a friend who owns 40 doors in Cleveland, but an exchange there would give him 75 or 100 more because they are worth less and he doesn't have the time or expertise to manage it. He has gotten me an introduction to someone who might be interested in co investing, managing and helping me with the exchange and loan acquisition; his family manages 4000 + doors. Does anyone have any guidance here: this is a large part of my net worth and I'm sure it's easy to mess this up. Other markets and other ideas are welcome. Thanks ahead of time for not laughing too much, I'm new here and this site seems too good to be true.

The upshot from the above: risks in doing a 1031 into another market were too high, this was the consensus of my advisors. So I forgot about that idea.