New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Bryson Elder
Votes |
New investor from Ohio

Bryson Elder
Posted Apr 24 2024, 08:02

hi, my names Bryson I’m 21 and looking to expand my business portfolio focusing mainly on the real estate and rental market though I’m new to the game. Currently I like the idea of brrrr, but the idea of loans and debt still scare me though I’m not in a position to cover costs entirely on my own. I know debt isn’t necessarily bad as long as you’re making enough from the investment to cover payments. I’d love to hear from people that have had skin in the game for a while. Any advice for a newbie is welcomed.

User Stats

Votes
Kevin Sobilo#1 Legal & Legislation Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Votes |
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Replied Apr 24 2024, 10:12

@Bryson Elder, debt is not something to be afraid of nor is it something to use willy nilly. Here are some things to consider.

1. Buy 1 house for $100k cash, it goes up 10%, you have $10k profit.

Now use the same $100k to buy a $500k house with a loan, it goes up 10%, you have $50k!!! That's 5x the profit with the same investment. This is why loans/credit in business is referred to as "leverage" it allows you to accomplish MORE with less.

2. Debt reduces certain kinds of risk. If you own a property outright and get sued that property can be foreclosed on to pay that judgement debt, but if it is fully leveraged with a loan it isn't worth them trying to foreclose on because there isn't enough equity to make it worth the effort and expense.

3. With regard to doing BRRRs and wanting to cash-flow after the refi. Rates are higher right now but the old adage is "Marry the property but date the rate". You will likely be able to refi again later lowering the rate and improving cash-flow. So, a decent deal is likely to get better over the long run.

User Stats

Votes
Bryson Elder
Votes |
Replied Apr 24 2024, 10:44
Quote from @Kevin Sobilo: