Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation

User Stats

Votes
Frank Apap
Votes |
Short Term Rental Tax Advantages

Frank Apap
Posted Mar 24 2024, 15:56

Hi, I am quite new to real estate investment.  I stumbled on some information about short term rental tax benefits as it pertains to lowering W-2 Income.  I am trying to figure out if this is really as good as it sounds.  I have been interested in getting into short term rentals and after reading about the tax benefits my interest is peaked.

Are there any basic rules of thumb on how to go about further researching if this is a good fit for me?  I'm a bit unclear on the math of what cost property, relative to my w-2 makes sense in terms of offsetting my income.  If my short term rental is not a positive cash-flow could it still be a good investment given the tax advantages?  

If anyone has first hand experience and an example of how to use this deduction, that would be really helpful.

User Stats

Votes
Benjamin Weinhart
Tax & Financial Services
#4 Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation Contributor
  • Accountant
  • Cincinnati OH 45209, USA
Votes |
Tax & Financial Services
#4 Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation Contributor
  • Accountant
  • Cincinnati OH 45209, USA
Replied Mar 24 2024, 17:16

Hi Frank,