• Architect
  • San Jose, CA
Votes |
AHJ are closed for the week, Ask me Anything about ADUs and SB9

Adam Mayberry
  • Architect
  • San Jose, CA
Posted Dec 28 2022, 15:55

I'm an Architect and MRED Grad and have entitled and permitted over 200 units across Bay Area and Norther California, ask me anything about SB9 or ADU design / permitting

User Stats

Votes
Brad S.
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Pasadena, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Pasadena, CA
Replied Dec 29 2022, 12:32

Hey @Adam Mayberry

So, can municipalities refuse to allow the ADU ordinances to work in conjunction with SB9. In other words, can they restrict you to a total of 2 units while using SB9, and not allow a third (ADU) unit?

User Stats

Votes
Adam Mayberry
  • Architect
  • San Jose, CA
Votes |
  • Architect
  • San Jose, CA
Replied Jan 3 2023, 11:13

I believe this is correct, but only limiting to 4 total. So Duplex under SB9 equals multifamily with ADU you could add two ADUs @Brad S.. IF the City does not limit to four total, there is a scenario where the City MAY allow up to 10 total units on single family zoned parcel

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Jeet Sangha
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Gilroy, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Gilroy, CA
Replied Jan 6 2023, 09:26

Hello Adam, is JADU allowed on rental properties or only on owner occupied homes?

Coldwell Banker Realty Logo

User Stats

Votes
Kevin Lo
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pasadena, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pasadena, CA
Replied Feb 22 2023, 17:10

Hey @Jeet Sangha

You can put an ADU and a JADU on the property and rent them both out. However, according to Section 65852.22. Section A, you'll see that owner-occupancy is required for the JADU.

User Stats

Votes
Replied Feb 23 2023, 06:20
Quote from @Kevin Lo:

Hey @Jeet Sangha