Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Jeff Schemmel
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Saint Paul, MN
Votes |
What questions I'm asking during due-diligence, and why it's OK to walk away.

Jeff Schemmel
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Saint Paul, MN
Posted Mar 22 2024, 08:24

Context: I'm an investor-friendly real estate agent in Minneapolis/St. Paul.  On this deal, I was representing a moderately experienced buyer whom I have worked with twice previously in a purchase of a relatively new small multi-family building.

This is my review of a transaction that did not make it to close, which highlights the process of going through an inspection period with an experienced investor-friendly agent and how that process worked correctly for the buyer.  I am going to focus on specific actions we took that brought forth critical information during the due diligence period.  I learned a ton during this process while being able to take some intentional steps to protect my client.

I'm going to do my best to explain this without divulging specific details, as I don't believe in having anyone shamed and I do not intend to break my clients' right to confidentiality.

The property in question was less than 1 year old, built by a local builder who held full ownership free and clear of any debts.  We presented this seller with a contract-for-deed offer which was accepted after some negotiation.  We were allowed in one of the three units prior to being under contract.  Normally, I would expect to see all units prior to writing an offer and that is still what I recommend; however, my client chose to proceed without seeing the other units when prompted; presumably because the building was so new.