User Stats

Votes
Adri Son
Votes |
TenantCloud vs Avail

Adri Son
Posted Jul 18 2019, 18:28

Hi all - newbie here!

I've searched the site a few times but haven't found much data on TenantCloud (formerly EvaProperty) vs Avail (formerly Rentulations). 

I have a multi-unit building that has a shared foyer and 4 separate 1 bedroom apartments. I am managing the property remotely, but I do have an in-person maintenance person. I'm looking for the best software for my situation.

From my research so far the $9/month Standard TenantCloud (TC) plan is the most comparable to the $25/month Landlord Plus plan (for 5 units) on Avail for me. So far this is what I've gathered: 

Price: TC is $9/month for the standard plan (150 units) and Avail is $25/month for Landlord Plus (5 units only)

Background Checks - Both have packages available for background checks. TC charges $19.95 for a background check that includes credit score, evictions, criminal, sex offender registry). Avail's most similar background check package has a full screening available at $45 (includes criminal and sex offender registry). 

Rental Payments / Banking - both TC and Avail don't charge for the bank ACH transfers with the plans I'm comparing. Both TC and Avail have autopay capabilities for the tenant as well as automated payment requests from the landlord. TC allows stripe/paypal/credit card for application fees and rental payment. Avail has a 3.5% service fee per transaction for credit cards. For Avail, if a payment is denied by the bank for non-sufficient funds, there is $15 NSF Fee added to your next payment. Avail will deposit the money to the landlord 3 business days after the withdrawal date. TC uses Dwolla which takes 1-2 business days to process from Dwolla to the recipient's bank account and 4-6 days for ACH. TC just says standard fees apply - I can't find more information otherwise, but I think Stripe charges 2.9% for credit card payments.