Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

New to BiggerPockets

Posted Jan 19 2024, 09:01

Hi there,

I'm new to BiggerPockets and real estate investing.

As I start searching for investment houses, I am considering registering an LLC (I'm not quite sure if that's the right.

Do you know which state would be better to register an LLC?

Thanks in advance!

Pradeep

User Stats

Votes
Simon Ashbaugh
  • Realtor
Votes |
  • Realtor
Replied Jan 19 2024, 09:52

Hey Pradeep, welcome to BiggerPockets! If asset protection is a top priority and you're serious about investing, choosing an LLC is a good option. But if you're unsure or just starting out, wait until after buying your first property. You can always form an LLC later if you decide to continue investing. Adding your first property to an existing LLC is simpler than forming a new LLC and transferring ownership later.

User Stats

Votes
Trent Dues
  • Title Representative
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |
  • Title Representative
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Replied Jan 19 2024, 11:15

What are your goals with investing? Buying under an LLC shifts the type of loans you would be eligible for, and likely rules you out of considering a house hack or using an FHA/VA loan, but opens up different funding options if you have the capital for a larger down payment. The LLC only offers certain protections to you; a lot of investors instead choose to invest in an umbrella insurance policy instead of buying in the LLC.