Votes
Sheri Nelson
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
Cell Tower Lease

Sheri Nelson
  • Dallas, TX
Posted Oct 23 2015, 09:09

I have been approached by a cell tower company to put a cell tower on some property. The property is in an urban area. They have offered $1500 per month for a 5 year term and then 3 additional 5 year optional terms with 10% increases. I have no knowledge of cell tower leases and have no idea if this is a good rate or not. Can anyone provide any insight into this and any companies that would give good advice for this type of lease?

User Stats

Votes
Joel Owens
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Canton, GA
ModeratorReplied Oct 23 2015, 10:21

I have done a few. The cell tower leases are not worth very much on the open market. They generally put out clauses even in the primary term of the lease and the options can't be counted on.

The question I would be asking myself is if a cell tower is the highest and best use of my land? Once those go in it is hard to build around them and causes access issues. The income stream isn't stable so cell tower lease buyers offer 20 cents on the dollar for the value of the lease and generally do not want to buy the land it sits on unless an ultra cheap price.

You said an Urban area. How much land do you have? If size able this might not be the best use. If the land is back in the woods or off the beaten path some where other types of development would not find it as desirable then the cell tower might be the answer.

If you have a great piece of land in high demand then pushing the tower off to the back on a corner with a small access road might let you keep your other land to extract value out of.

Would really have to know the address, how large the land is, topography of your land, etc.     

User Stats

Votes
William Jenkins
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis, MO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • St. Louis, MO
Replied Oct 23 2015, 11:55