Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Gavin Ells
Votes |
Starting out at 17.

Gavin Ells
Posted May 13 2024, 06:24

Hey yall, I just turned 17 on May 10th. Im looking into starting a real estate investing business when I move out In Boca Raton or Tampa Bay. My endgame plan is becoming a real estate developer (maybe) Im gonna be starting out in wholesaling first and I have a mentor who is my friends dad. He is experienced in real estate and is a realtor and has  been doing it for many years. Hes gonna teach me to do a wholesale deal. I know im only 17 so my dad has to sign the contract. I already started to cold call and I did not know tf was I doing. Alot of people were pissed at me. I had no help what's so ever but I learned from my past mistakes and Ill try again and get more info. :D

User Stats

Votes
Gavin Ells
Votes |
Replied May 13 2024, 06:24

Im looking into seller finance for the future but I dont know yet at all. Im still a complete noob. 

User Stats

Votes
Gregory Schwartz
  • Rental Property Investor
  • College Station, TX
Votes |
  • College Station, TX
Replied May 13 2024, 06:54

Gavin welcome to the game!!

This is going to sound sacrilege but I think you should get a W-2 job in real estate based on your end game of wanting to be a developer I would look to work for developers, custom builders, surveyors etc. The W-2 job will be the easiest way to get your first 1-5 rentals. 

To supercharge that gameplan you can find off-market opportunities. The best way to do this is to network, network, network. Reach out to 50 investors in your area and ask to have lunch, coffee etc. This is how a 19-year-old investor in my area got his first 2 duplexes (4 units before he turned 21) 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Gavin Ells
Votes |
Replied May 13 2024, 07:06
Quote from @Gregory Schwartz: