Skip to content
Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Shawn Parsh#2 Rehabbing & House Flipping Contributor
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Tennessee
Votes |
How do you decide to STR or LTR a Property?

• Real Estate Investor
  • Tennessee
Posted Mar 27 2024, 10:25

I have been investing in real estate for over 20 years, but have no experience in short term rentals like Airbnb. I was hoping some of you could give me some things to consider as I try to decide to LTR or STR. I live and invest in NE TN around the Mountain City, TN area. We have a lot of Airbnb places in the area because of the mountains, lakes, Virginia Creeper Trail, and the Appalachian Trail. Because of so many STR places the availability for long term rentals is almost non existent. I get asked quite often if I have anything to rent.

I currently have a place I rehabbed that I have listed for sale because I'm also building a house that I need the cash for, but I have another house I just started that I may rent. I have a third that I just signed a contract on that I could also rent. Any advice will be appreciated. 

User Stats

Votes
Yiwei Cheng
  • Investor
  • Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Cincinnati, OH
Replied Mar 27 2024, 11:02

I would recommend looking at how much money you could make as a STR vs LTR & then deciding if it's worth the effort to do STR vs LTR. STR is very different from LTR in so many ways and if you are going to self manage, it is not an easy transition. Since you are new, if you choose to do a STR, I would recommend hiring a great property manager who can do it for you.
Also not all houses would make a great STR, so getting local advice on location, size, etc would be beneficial.

User Stats

Votes
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Tennessee
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Tennessee
Replied Mar 27 2024, 11:22

Yiwei,