Andrew Emery
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
FHA Mortgage with a Partner

Andrew Emery
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Jul 11 2012, 07:59

Hey everyone,

I am very new to real estate investing, and in fact haven't yet graduated from college. However, upon graduation I hope to acquire a duplex using an FHA mortgage and rent out the other unit. My question: is it possible to obtain an FHA mortgage with a friend, where he and I would live in one of the units, splitting the cost of the mortgage, while tenants pay to rent the other unit? Is this type of partnership impossible with FHA? Would forming an LLC alleviate any issues regarding this? Any help is appreciated, thanks

User Stats

Votes
John Jackson
  • Investor
  • North Richland Hills, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Jul 11 2012, 08:00

You would EACH have to QUALIFY for the loan. You can't combine incomes to qualify unless you are married.

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Emery
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
  • Chicago, IL
Replied Jul 11 2012, 08:27

Thanks John,

So given that each of our incomes qualify for the mortgage individually, this is a possibility?

Rent To Retirement logo
Rent To Retirement
|
Sponsored
Turnkey Rentals 12+ States. SFR, MF & New Builds, High ROI! 3.99% rates, 5% down loans, below market prices across the US! Txt REI to 33777

User Stats

Votes
John Jackson
  • Investor
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Jul 11 2012, 17:17

WEll....assuming DTI, scores, public records etc......yes.

User Stats

Votes
James H.
  • Investor
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied Jul 11 2012, 17:53
Originally posted by Andrew Emery:
Thanks John,

So given that each of our incomes qualify for the mortgage individually, this is a possibility?

I see nothing but downside to this. I would highly recommend your first property be sans partners. I know you are just brainstorming...

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Emery
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
  • Chicago, IL
Replied Jul 12 2012, 05:48

Brian Hoyt,