Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Aidan Black
Votes |
House Hacking at 22 years old

Aidan Black
Posted Mar 22 2024, 19:06

I'm relatively new to the real estate investing business and wanted to start out house hacking. I've saved up about 35k and have really good credit with a stable job. I was curious if anybody is/knows a good lender that I could speak to about getting started. Many thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Kiernan LaFaver
  • Real Estate Agent
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
Replied Mar 22 2024, 19:23

Welcome to the community! It seems like FHA might be a good route to go if possible or conventional if your credit and down payment. Lower down payment requirements but you have to live in the property for a year, no big deal if you plan on house hacking for FHA. Most lenders should be able to have both of these loan products. The FHA process is a little more stringent since it's federally backed. I'd recommend going with a local lender that you have a good relationship with as opposed to a large national company as they are likely to have better immediate customer service and are more likely to respond in a timely manner, which is important for your first loan. I've noticed that credit unions tend to have slightly better interest rates since they typically are not for profit whereas a normal bank or broker is. Happy to be a resource if needed!

User Stats

Votes
Aidan Black
Votes |
Replied Mar 22 2024, 20:01
Quote from @Kiernan LaFaver: