Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Yash Tamta
Votes |
Cashflow ready houses. Too good to be true?

Yash Tamta
Posted Apr 7 2024, 16:54

I'm analysing cities for buying my first rental. During my search I came across 6+ listings from the same seller all with tenant in place making some amount of cashflow, some of them even making $500+ cashflow(by Brandon Turner's definition).

On paper, it seems I'll make cashflow the moment I buy the property. Not sure if this is "too good to be true" category. I'm a newbie in real estate and seeking some expert advide.

User Stats

Votes
Michael Paling
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Gwinn, MI
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Gwinn, MI
Replied Apr 7 2024, 18:26

Hey Yash, It's hard to say if it's "too good to be true" without more information. Could you share numbers about the income and expenses, including CapEx, maintenance, property management, etc.?

Depending on your investment strategy, you could definitely have a property cashflow right away. Inheriting a tenant comes with risks, but if they're good tenants, that's great! 

User Stats

Votes
G. Brian Davis
Pro Member
  • Hatboro, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Hatboro, PA
Replied Apr 8 2024, 05:42

It's much harder than most new investors realize to find properties that actually cash flow well.

Whenever we're talking to new investors, the shorthand rule of thumb we share is the 50% Rule: that half of the rent will go to non-mortgage expenses, when averaged over time. Most splutter and say "Well how the heck am I going to find a property that cash flows well?!" To which we respond "Exactly - now you're starting to grasp the challenge."