• Charlotte, NC
Votes |
Importance of real estate specific accountant

Stephanie St. Germain
Pro Member
  • Charlotte, NC
Posted Apr 15 2024, 10:27

Hi,

I am in the early stages of my real estate investment journey and under contract with my first rental property, which I intend to use as an STR. I am technically an active CPA but haven't been actively using the certification in almost 10 years and never specialized in tax, but I still have the general background and understanding. I know how important a real estate specific accountant is especially as I start out, but after a couple years of working with a professional and if no significant changes have taken place and I only have 1 investment property, could I not do the taxes myself? Or is a real estate professional absolutely a must?
thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Chris Picciurro
  • Accountant
  • Franklin, TN
Votes |
  • Accountant
  • Franklin, TN
Replied Apr 15 2024, 10:55

Great question and I have been a practicing CPA for almost 25 years. If you are taking advantage of the STR loophole then working with a tax professional that understands it is critical. The tax pro should also work closely with the cost segregation firm. If the rental is passive, you can probably muddle through Schedule E on your own. Have a great day!

User Stats

Votes
Benjamin Weinhart
Tax & Financial Services
  • Accountant
  • Cincinnati OH 45209, USA
Votes |
Tax & Financial Services
  • Accountant
  • Cincinnati OH 45209, USA
Replied Apr 15 2024, 11:03

Hi Stephanie,

You may find it useful to get someone who practices in the space every couple of years and especially after a big law change (i.e. 2025 or 2026 tax year after the TCJA expires). I can certainly see what you mean about using SALY as a friend for most years, but unless you want to stay current on all the state/federal income tax laws, you may want to seek out a professional every few years to double-check.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored