User Stats

Votes
Sam Robbins
Votes |
Insurance question for MTR

Sam Robbins
Posted Jan 17 2024, 21:24

Hi!

I've been renting out my 3/3 end unit townhouse for the past three months through Furnished Finder, to a great tenant on a four month lease. It's cash flowing really well and I'm hoping to continue doing MTR. I'm wondering - what kind of insurance should I get for the house? Do I ask the tenants to have renter's insurance? 

Also, does anyone have experience in the Nashville market for MTR's? This one tenant has been great but we've only had one. Hoping we don't have too many vacancies. I did list it on Zillow for LTR and have received some interest, a lot of it from STR arbitrage companies. That seems a little chaotic and risky to me. The property is 5 minutes south of the airport in a quiet, dead end neighborhood.

Sam

User Stats

Votes
Owen Rosen#5 Rehabbing & House Flipping Contributor
  • Professional
  • Keego Harbor, MI
Votes |
  • Professional
  • Keego Harbor, MI
Replied Jan 18 2024, 06:46

Not quite sure what you mean by what kind of insurance - please elaborate if possible.  As for asking tenants to get renters insurance I'd strongly recommend adding that to future lease agreements and requiring proof of coverage.

User Stats

Votes
Luka Milicevic
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Nashville, TN
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Nashville, TN
Replied Jan 18 2024, 07:37

What kind of insurance? The best thing to do is to call an insurance agent and tell them exactly what you're doing with the property. I use state farm and every time I have a property I call my agent and tell them exactly what I plan on doing. I'll let them know this is a renovation that I intend on fully renovating in 3 months and then sell. That way they can get me the exact policy I need. Insurance is not something you need until you need it....