Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Alex Ferranti
Votes |
Wholesaler looking for renovation quote help

Alex Ferranti
Posted Apr 29 2024, 12:00

Hello all, I'm new to the renovation game in real estate as I just got out of college. My big question is when quoting a renovation, since I don't have the experience what is the best way to come up with the right ARV so I can make the right offer. Is it just time and experience, knowing what costs what or is there a better way?

User Stats

Votes
Mitch Messer
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Medellín, Colombia
Votes |
  • Medellín, Colombia
Replied Apr 29 2024, 12:13
Quote from @Alex Ferranti:

Hello all, I'm new to the renovation game in real estate as I just got out of college. My big question is when quoting a renovation, since I don't have the experience what is the best way to come up with the right ARV so I can make the right offer. Is it just time and experience, knowing what costs what or is there a better way?

@Alex Ferranti, do you mean "after-repair value (ARV)" or "repair budget?"

The ARV is determined by sales of nearby comparable homes. If you can get a local agent to pull a list of recent transactions, you should be able to estimate, based on the photos, what your target property will sell for post-renovation.

The repair budget is the list of repairs (with estimated costs) required to make your target property look like the "ARV homes" you found above. An experienced investor could walk a property and work up that list. For now, you'll need to engage an experienced general contractor to help you identify the repairs needed and the associated costs.

User Stats

Votes
Alex Ferranti
Votes |
Replied Apr 29 2024, 12:17

@Mitch Messer thank you for your reply, the repair budget is what I'm struggling with, I was thinking about bringing a contractor when I walk a house. Do you have any advice for using the pictures provided? I am a relator so I can do the ARV on comparable homes. Thank you again.